DataWarehouse

hi!

I have a task: create a datawarehouse in Cognos 8 BI.
I’m just a beginner in Cognos… So, can anybody says a basic steps for it? (we use Microsoft SQL Server 2005)
As i read, there is an special tool for creating DW (and DMarts) - DataManager. But we haven’t this tool in our distributiv files. So, can i create DW without DataManager? And how if it possible?
Should i create a database for DW by hand or Cognos can do itself based on created FM-model?

I do following:

1. Create a new DB in MSSQL2005 and a new connection to it.
  2. Select this DB as DataSource in new FrameworkManager model.
  3. Create a dimentions and measures.
  4. Publish package and open it in MetricStudio.
    But i don’t understand how to use created dimentions and measures in Metric Studio.
    So, when i want to see history of metrics in MetricStudio, i see that metric is incomplete.
    When i try to load data automatically in Staging Tables i have an error: DIS-ERR 3115, DIS-RUN 3259,DIS-RUN 3289: “there is no files in catalog to load”… What kind of files should be in default catalog (CMM) and how can i create it?

p.s. Do not be surprised if the questions seem stupid to you … I’m just a beginner) and anyway sorry for my english =)

i’ll be waiting any reply,
gratefully
Hellenn

hi Ellenn,

i see a few things mixed together. :-\

1. datamanager is and ETL tool to optimize and transform your (source/reporting) database to a new structure like star schema’s which perform (generally) much better than normal relation databases.
  2. datamanager can be used to load data from one database to the staging tables of the metric store database.